top of page
  • Writer's pictureAndrea McMurtry

Guilt Free Hot Chocolate

This hot chocolate recipe can be completely altered to suit your taste buds. I find since I don’t eat a lot of sugar in my diet, I am very sensitive to sweet things, so I don’t need a whole lot sweeteners in mine to give me the hot chocolate flavour that I desire. Fortunately, in this recipe, the sweetener is local maple syrup which has dozens of antioxidants that can help delay or prevent diseases caused by free radicals, such as cancer or diabetes. In addition, maple syrup features high levels of zinc and manganese, keeping the heart healthy and boosting the immune system. I threw some turmeric in there as you won’t even taste it and again, it has so many benefits I can not come close to listing them all, so give your immune system a second boost and add this key ingredient. As long as you don’t mind the yellow colour it gives your hot chocolate.


Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup almond milk + 1/2 cup water, warmed on stovetop

  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil

  • 1 tablespoon raw cacao powder

  • ½ teaspoon raw maca powder

  • ½ teaspoon turmeric

  • ½ tablespoon maple syrup

  • 3 dashes cinnamon

  • cayenne + sea salt, pinch of each

Instructions:

  1. Add all ingredients to blender. Blend, and enjoy!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page